Vidit Gujrathi (TOI Photo)

CHENNAI: Grandmaster Vidit Santosh Gujrathi was on Sunday named as the captain of the Indian team that will take part in the Online Chess Olympiad 2020, scheduled to begin on July 22.
The India No.2 has been nominated as the skipper in consultation with former world champion and the country’s top player Vishwanathan Anand and the All India Chess Federation (AICF) selection committee comprising its president PR Venkatrama Raja and honorary secretary Vijay Deshpande, said a press release on Sunday.
“India No. 2 Grandmaster Vidit Gujarathi has been nominated as captain of the Indian team which will take part in the Online Chess Olympiad 2020…This has been done in consultation with Vishy Anand and the selection committee by President of AICF PR Venkatarama Raja,” the AICF release stated.
The team also includes P Harikrishna and national champion Aravindh Chithambaram, world rapid champion Koneru Humpy, D Harika and young prodigy R Praggnanandhaa among others.
The Indian squad:
Men: Vishwanathan Anand, Vidit Santosh Gujarathi (captain), P Harikrishna and Arvindh Chithambaram (reserves).
Women: Koneru Humpy, Dronavalli Harika, Bhakti Kulkarni and R Vaishali (reserves).
Junior boys: Nihal Sarin, R Praggnanandhaa (reserve).
Junior girls: Divya Deshmukh, Vantika Agrawal (reserve).

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here